Friday’s Passing Fancy: For Wild Grassy Seas

steigerwald-spring-87

A swishing dance of barest stems was
perhaps nothing but a passing of the wind
and yet it came to me as kindness.
Sun with great dome of warmth blessing all,
flowery or buggy face a measure of its power.
It was welcome that I sought, leaving worries,
adding nothing to my thought than
assurances of earth’s own wisdom.

Those fine, secret hours. A promise of unity,
and forgiveness of capriciousness.
The girl I was, the ways I yearned–
heaven to lie among those favored
ones, creatures and plants gathered
without malice or demands.
It was no less than sovereignty
of beauty, ease and genius of this planet.

But it was only half (if that) a story then.
The lives of humans proved felonious
as well as courageous or reconciling,
gave or took such scarlet blood as well as love.
My own life was like others: peaks and rills,
made of rust, of lightning, midnight and morning stars.
These things meadows told me, too,
as I lay lolling in its wilder, grassy seas.

So I am reaching toward sweet if resting grasses
and their counterparts who advise: patience.
Abundant, brave spring will circle back.
I will let the world turn in its shadow and silt
’til messenger dawns arrive, bring us to thaw,
bestow upon us each a deeper truth, dear God, once more.

gorge2-08-kellypt-3-08-smithbybee3-08-056

steigerwald-spring-53

steigerwald-spring-32

(All photographs by Cynthia Guenther Richardson)

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Passing Fancy: For Wild Grassy Seas

  1. Beautiful word painting, Cynthia. Thanks so much for sharing your lovely poetry. Reading your prose and verse is easy in its rhythm and a delight to devour. I’m sharing this with some close friends who also aspire to write. Peter W-G

I'm happy to hear from you! Tell me what you think.

